In Spirit & In Truth

tumblr_odi9297zqq1r3pmtuo1_540

Last night, a few of us from the Fancy Schmancy crew went to the Hillsong Y&F concert, and it was awesome! There was this really incredible & fun energy that kept giving us glimpses of what heaven is going to be like. Worshiping Jesus forever is going to be amazing, and entering into worship in either a small group or big group makes me stoked for the day that I’ll get to experience that with all my friends who love Him.

There was a song whose words stuck out to me in the beginning of the concert. Let’s get right into it, and I’ll tell you what I took away from this song, and why I felt it was so important. A link is provided at the end if you want to listen to the song!

“This is no performance, Lord I pray it’s worship- empty words I can’t afford. I’m not chasing feelings, that’s not why I’m singing- You’re the reason for my song.”

I think this is the attitude we should have when we begin worshiping. It’s not about impressing others around us, it’s about focusing on the glory and magnificence of Jesus. It’s also important for us to remember that if we go into worship because we feel good in the moment, it’s going to be even harder for us to enter into the presence of Jesus when we don’t feel good. We should remember how essential it is to worship Jesus because of who He is. He’s the reason we sing, why we do anything. If it weren’t for Him, we wouldn’t be here, and we are here because He loves us dearly & truly.

“I only wanna sing, if I sing with everything, if I sing for you my King. I can’t imagine why I would do this all for hype, ’cause it’s all to lift You high.”

I kept looking into the crowd, and seeing everyone with their hands up in worship made me so happy. Even in the middle of the sweet lights & smoke, it was clear that it was all so genuine and passionate. I love that. We should always be stoked to be in the presence of Jesus. It’s a privilege that we shouldn’t get, but for some reason He allows us to be near Him. I really like these lyrics because it reminded me of how excited & hyped we all were for this concert. But hype fades away after a while, so that shouldn’t be what we go after; it should always be the heart of Jesus that we’re after.

“You don’t want perfection, just my soul’s attention- all I have is what I’ll give. More than a song that lasts a moment, I’ll live a life full of honest worship, if I’m here to sing then I’ll sing with purpose- all the praise, Lord, You deserve it now.”

He’s deserving of it all; He’s given us so much more than we could have ever asked for or deserved. Jesus is so precious beyond anything else we know. As mere humans who are flawed in every way, it’s embarrassing to realize that we don’t have anything else to offer but ourselves. But the fact that He only wants that is humbling, isn’t it? He deserves all our worship, in the truest form. He would never ask us for something He knew we couldn’t give- that would be cruel, and He is nothing of the sort.

Here’s what I took away from the concert last night: It’s okay to be excited about Jesus, and it’s not embarrassing, but freeing. It’s fine to be off-key, He’s got a heart for the imperfect. It’s alright to be excited for a night of worship with fancy lights & music. We shouldn’t have to worry about dancing, because that’s all we’re going to want to do in heaven, and I’m excited for it! Are you?

Leave a Reply

