My Life Plans

tumblr_od01woWqL81r3pmtuo1_540

In church over the last few weeks, we’ve been talking about dreams. More specifically, dreams that have either died, or not worked out for us. I thought of multiple dreams I’ve had that were in the middle of not working out. The timing wouldn’t be right, or I wasn’t ready to carry out the plan I originally had. I was thinking about all the things I had planned for my life, and everything I thought I would have checked off of my checklist. But there was still a few questions bugging me, and they’ve been bugging me for a long time.

How often do I include God in my plans?

Definitely not as often as I would like. It’s not so easy to ask God to show me His ideas for my life, because they might not be what I have in mind. His ways are higher than my ways. It’s a matter of trusting God that His plan is better than mine. I like knowing what’s going to happen, so it’s easy for me to doubt Him sometimes. It’s not so easy to trust someone with your life. It takes guts to trust in God’s plan for your life, because it takes away your control. Trusting anyone that much is scary.

Do I even want to include Him in my plans?

I do. Knowing that God knows everything about me, including my entire life, should be enough for me to want to give up control of the ideas I have for myself; If I try to take matters into my own hands without looking for wisdom from God, my plans will very likely not succeed. Compared to God who knows all things, I know nothing, and I need Him to help guide me in my life. I want to include Him in my plans, butΒ it’s easier said than done.

What happens when I include God in my plans?

There will still be problems, because I will still have choices to make, and I might not always make the right decision. However, if I have God to help guide me make proper choices, the plans He has in mind for me would be even better than what I’d originally had in mind for myself. I believe He has my best interest at heart, and if I can’t say “God, I need You to guide my steps so that I can make choices that will make You happy with the way I live my life”, then I might have a pretty good life, just not as good as it could be.

I’ve thought a lot about the things that I’ve envisioned my life to be. Writer with a passion to reach others through her work? Check. Published? Working on it. Employed with some kind of job? Also working on it. Married? Not quite. Mother? Not yet. I need to remember that even though I’m not going at the pace I want, that God can still help me get to where I want to be. I hope to get there soon, but I hope to trust Him more with my life first. Then we’ll see where it goes from there.

Leave a Reply

