The Wanderer Speaks

ABM_1471289669

Wonder (n.): The emotion awoken by something or someone awe-inspiring, astounding, or surprising.

I find nature to be completely enthralling. There’s so much detail in everything if we stop to look & admire it. I love to seek out the mundane and look at all the little things. Observing is something I enjoy doing; leave me in a field or forest, and I’ll spend hours photographing & wandering around. There’s something about being aware of the sound of wind & how it feels on my face. Or seeing the branches on the trees and looking at the tiniest details in the leaves. And watching a stream of water flowing & watching the ripples echo. I like how there’s more to nature than what the eye would see upon a mere glance.

I remember a time where I had plans to meet a friend at their house & I got lost. But the sun was setting & I was making the best out of the situation in which I was placed. I walked an empty back road. The sun was setting, and everything turned golden (yes, even me). I passed field after field & I stopped to roam it. The field grass was so tall I got lost in it. It was so soft. I’ve never seen anything like it, and it was incredible. I finally arrived at my friend’s house, where we lit a fire, sung songs, & just talked. The embers were fascinating. The air was cold, but there’s raw beauty in imperfect weather. Gosh, I sound so pretentious.

I’m obsessed with the way sunsets look. I’m incredibly into art, and I used to do a lot of painting in high school. Learning about the techniques & seeing how the colors can mix together completely shifted the way I look at life in general, because now, I can better appreciate the colors in the sky. The vibrant colors that fade into a gradient of dark purple and black is something I find to be absolutely insane.

The Glory of the Lord in Creation (Psalm 8:3-4)

“When I consider your heavens,
the work of your fingers,
the moon and the stars,
which you have set in place,
What is mankind that you are mindful of them,
human beings that you care for them?”

My sense of wonder doesn’t end at marveling toward nature. A lot of the time I’m awestruck when I worship. It sounds a little silly, like, how can you be in awe when you’re singing, right? Well, as I sing to Jesus, I think about how amazing He is. He created everything & He gives detail & meaning to everything. He knows all of us individually, on the most personal level. He is so vast & insane. He is perfect in every way whereas I am not, but He still cares about me enough to meet me at whatever place I’m at in my life, and He takes the time to sit with me. Who would ever do that? I’m nothing compared to Him. Completely worthless. But He doesn’t care about that at all, and that’s wonderful.

Whenever I’m singing to Him, I feel like a kid. Like, a really happy kid. You know how a child is just so mind blown by everything around them? I feel like that in His company. I don’t ever want to let go of the wonder that He’s placed in my heart, because without it, life is bland & unexciting. Because of Him, life is an adventure.

Leave a Reply

