Things I’m Currently Learning

tumblr_o9iddxxoLV1r3pmtuo1_540

  1. My friends are an insanely important part of my life. I can’t express it enough. Whenever I’m with them, I feel so joyful & full. They are so wholesome, full of life, and I love them fiercely. They are a group of very special people, and I’m glad to have them in my life; it’s truly a blessing to be vulnerable with them.
  2. Communication is important, whether it’s in the context of a relationship, friendship, work setting, etc. When we talk to each other, nobody is left out of the know. We should really strive to keep the lines of communication open at all times.
  3. Being brave comes gradually. It’s a process. Even if it happens very gradually, I should still be proud of the progress I have been making; the pace I go at does not mean I am doomed to failure. I’m proud of how far I’ve gotten.
  4. Being persistent in a matter that I feel strongly about is important. How else will change occur if I don’t begin to speak out? When we find someone else who believes in that thing just as strongly as we do, someone who will back us up, we see how great things come from a united community.
  5. So much good comes from being together. For example, my friend’s church, Fancy Schmancy. We’ve created a community of people that are gentle with one another, happy to be in each others’ company, and excited to learn about Jesus- all without judgement. There are a few people who I have just recently gotten the chance to know, and in that short time, we’ve become close like family. I trust them & I love them.
  6. Β This season has been teaching me a lot about being a friend. One of my best friends is no longer attending youth group; leading up to his last day, I was afraid because I thought it was going to be one of those things where you stop keeping in contact after a while. But our friendship is rooted in truth. Friendship seeks the other out, never leaves them hanging in the dark. Communication does wonders.
  7. I want to be a welcoming person. The kind of person who is warm upon the first meeting, and happily accepts whomever is nearby. I want to draw others in so I can become their friend, and show them the goodness of God. I know friendships like that are a blessing, and I want to be that for someone.
  8. Little gestures have become some of my favorite things: Paying for their coffee. Simple encouragement. Hugs. Making someone laugh. Vulnerability. Telling someone you trust them. Realizing someone trusts you. Meaningful conversation. Making something for someone. Connection. Closeness. Genuine compliments. Asking someone to stay. Which leads me to my next point:
  9. We should let others know that we love them, that they are appreciated. It’s so important. People need to know that they are loved. I know I don’t tell my friends that I love them enough, but I should, because I do. They mean a lot to me, and I cherish them deeply.
  10. I should write more poetry for those whom I care for & hold closely to my heart. Like I said, people need to know that they are cared for. I’ve written stuff for friends before; it’s extremely vulnerable. But I’ll do anything to let them know how much I love them.
  11. Facades just create barriers. Save yourself the trouble & be legit with everyone.
  12. Create. By yourself, with friends. Make something. Create something in boldness & truth.
Leave a Reply

