Coming Alive Again

 

tumblr_o8hl9dhjlo1r3pmtuo1_400

If you have a bible, flip to Ezekiel 37:1-14 (I feel like a pastor). The entire passage is good, but I’ll be focusing on verses 1-6 right now. If you don’t have a bible, you can look it up.

37 The hand of the Lord came upon me and brought me out in the Spirit of the Lord, and set me down in the midst of the valley; and it was full of bones. Then He caused me to pass by them all around, and behold, there were very many in the open valley; and indeed they were very dry. And He said to me, “Son of man, can these bones live?”

So I answered, “O Lord God, You know.”

Again He said to me, “Prophesy to these bones, and say to them, ‘O dry bones, hear the word of the Lord! Thus says the Lord God to these bones: “Surely I will cause breath to enter into you, and you shall live.I will put sinews on you and bring flesh upon you, cover you with skin and put breath in you; and you shall live. Then you shall know that I am the Lord.”’” –Ezekiel 37:1-6

Here, Ezekiel is brought to a scene of death- a dry & hot valley. The skeletons have been there for quite some time, and the birds have picked everything off. This was to signify the death of Israel (For some reason, I always seem to think of sheep skulls rather than human skeletons. Maybe because God’s our shepherd & we’re supposed to remain close to Him. Regardless, if I ever get a tattoo, I’m getting a sheep skull). Then God tells Ezekiel to tell the dry bones that He will restore them.

This is an important truth that we need to tell ourselves often, because we fail often. While the realization that we’ve failed God once again sticks with us, we often forget the truth of God. He is constantly restoring & breathing His life in us.

Once Ezekiel tells the dry bones what God wanted him to say, the bones come together, and are once again covered with skin. It isn’t until he tells the breath to come, that the bones come alive again. It’s the same with us. We can’t function without the breath of God; we can’t do anything apart from Him. Just as God restored Israel, He can restore us as well.

Leave a Reply

