Intro to May

tumblr_o6o3ooY1Zj1r3pmtuo1_400

My word of the month is “Nearness”.

Over the last few days, I’ve been thinking of the idea of drawing near to Jesus. Many of us have those weeks where everything we go through is difficult, or we live in constant fear of the future, or we just don’t want to be near anyone at all. Β It’s difficult, being human sometimes (or most of the time- for me, it’s most of the time).

Jesus is there though. There’s nowhere we can go where He is not. Even when we don’t want Him to be there, He remains with us. I think that’s really endearing. It only proves how faithful He is to us. Even though we struggle with such things, He remains as close as the mention of the first syllable of His name. Our fears & our troubles don’t make Him fearful to come near to us, for He is bigger than them.

“Come to Me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” -Matthew 11:28 (an often used verse, but a good one nonetheless)

He calls us over to Him just so we can be near Him & find rest in His presence. I like to think of Jesus’ presence as a little closet, where I can hide away and find peace. Nobody can find me, and my deepest thoughts are safe with Him. Just the act of being near Him makes me happy. I have to be near Jesus, or else I’d be quickly pulled away by everything that distracts me from Him. He has my heart. It’s literally a desperate thing.

I’ve made a playlist that centers around this theme (it’s best if you play it on shuffle). What is your word of the month?

Leave a Reply

