Make More Time

tumblr_o6h8vtIIfH1r3pmtuo1_540

9:27pm, and my wardrobe consists of black. I just like it. I have my 3rd or 4th cup of coffee (I don’t remember) sitting on the table in the corner in my lamp lit room. I’m contemplating reading my collection of Edgar Allan Poems later (I know, I’m such a romantic existentialist). I’m listening to one of the dreamiest songs, and I’m struggling to find something to write about. I think I found something, though.

There’s a desire that I’ve been realizing over the last two weeks. I keep wanting to make sure that everyone is okay. It breaks my heart to know that people are sad or just plain unhappy. I can feel the pain that my friends and family go through, and I hurt with them. I can feel the sorrow that they hold in their heart, and I want to go up to them and say, “Let me hold that for a moment. Get some rest.” So often, hearts go weary from holding the weight in for a long while. It burdens me to know that. Maybe it’s a blessing that God made me able to tangibly feel the pain of others.

My heart wrenches with sadness when my friends & family pour out their hearts to me. So much of the time, I can’t do anything to ease their pain. But I can offer them my ears to let them know I’m listening & that they’re heard. I can offer my time. People are precious. Absolutely delicate things. We break easily. We should love each other more. We should take care of each other more. We need to listen to each other more. We should make more time for each other. Making time means “I care about you, and I’m listening. Take all the time you need.” When we make time for each other, it encourages & uplifts, which is what we’re supposed to do. (1 Thessalonians 5:11)

Maybe this is why I feel the pain of others when they open up to me. It’s a matter of reaching out, and making it known that everyone matters, and that everyone should be heard. There are many other people who take on the burdens of others, but not everyone does. Empathy is such a necessary thing that this world lacks. Empathy is linked with care. Care is linked with love. We really need to love others more.

Leave a Reply

