Sit Down & Breathe

I’ve been so lonely lately.
Would you be my company?
You used to sit with me all the time.
Oh, why did I stop asking you to join me?
Please, sit and stay a while.
I know it’s been a long time since I last asked
For your company.
Would you come in for a bit?
I’ll make some coffee for us,
And I’ll rest against your chest, the sun shining on my face;
I’ll listen to your heart.
I’ve found myself wondering what exactly your heart sounds like.
Maybe your heartbeats sound similar to the birds’ songs,
Or maybe it sounds like the breeze that plays in the trees?
Does it sound like the laughter of an child,
When joy is at its precipice of containment?
If you can meet me here,
I might be able to get a glimpse of your heart,
We’ll sit a while in close company,
And I might be able to get to know you better.
Thank you for staying with me.
Leave a Reply

