How Are You Brave?

tumblr_o582s8zlCJ1r3pmtuo1_540


brav·er·y

 (brā′və-rē, brāv′rē)

n.pl. brav·er·ies

1. The condition or quality of being brave; courage.


I like to think I am brave. It makes me feel better about myself. I know that I’m not always as courageous as I’d like to be. I live in fear, and my fears have been directing my life, ever since I realized that I am in control of it. I have difficulty trusting in God sometimes, and it really sucks. Fear is a dictator, and it messes up your brain; it gives you unnecessary anxiety. I’m not too sure how I wanted to go about this post, but I know I don’t want it to be a downer. Here’s a list of some of the ways I have been brave- maybe it’ll inspire me to let go of fear, and kill it for good.

  • I had a falling out with one of my closest friends, and I always told him that I wanted to reconcile and restore our friendship. After about 2 years of not speaking, he contacted me, and we both apologized. I even saw him that following summer. It was a surprise. I was scared to greet him, because I wanted to catch up, but I didn’t know how he would react to seeing me again. I felt bare, and exposed. It was like I was saying, “look at me, look at who I’ve become“. But I did it. Hopefully one day, we’ll become friends again (This is a story for another day).
  • I’ve always wanted to write a book compiled of all the poems I’ve written. I’d pick the ones with the biggest significance, and just let the world read them. Many of my friends who are writers have been working on publishing their stuff, so I was hit with the realization that I can do it too! We’ll see where that takes us.
  • About a week ago, I went to the mall to buy some tea, and a new book. The girl at the counter recognized me. She told told me to come back  with a resume when I had come in months before, asking if she had any job openings. I didn’t have my resume with me when she saw me, but it gave me courage to want to go back with one, because hey, maybe I actually have a shot.
  • Every time I’m asked to share my testimony at youth group, I feel bravery running through my veins. I don’t know why, I just get excited to tell others about how Jesus changed me. It’s one of my favorite times to be vulnerable with people, because they get to know me better.

Being vulnerable at all is a pretty brave thing to do. Sharing testimonies, being open with anyone at all, allowing people to see the things that make us who we are. Life is crazy though. Anything can happen. I need to learn to be brave in other areas than sharing my life- I’ve had plenty of experience. In what ways are you brave?

I need to learn to trust in Jesus more. I think that’s the bravest, most courageous thing I could ever do.

Leave a Reply

