The Importance of Community

tumblr_o3mrmam1lY1r3pmtuo1_540

Story time!

A few weeks ago, I was officially asked to join the Sunday worship team. I was ecstatic! This has been a goal of mine for so long, so it felt great to realize that I finally reached that goal. Β This meant that my singing & abilities to Β lead a group of people into worship had improved significantly! I was really proud and excited to see where I would go from there. But I had moved, so being on time for practice was a worry of mine. I kept my worries to myself for a few days because I didn’t want my team to be upset & kick me out. I quickly decided that instead of just dropping the opportunity, I was still going to attend the meetings. But I was going to go on hiatus until I could figure out a solution. Not too long after that, I realized that my team members still deserved to know why I wouldn’t be at practice regularly. So I took a deep breath & told them everything. Many of them offered me a lift, and were very caring, to my surprise. Now I’m able to go to practice on time! This is all because I reached out for someone to help.

Why is community so important? It’s important because it’s so easy for us to hide behind facades, and pretend to be okay when we’re not. How can people offer support and help if we don’t open up and say, “Hey, I need help. I’m going through a tough time. Can you help me?”

As someone who values community, I try to be as transparent and real as I can, in order to allow others to relate to me. This is how I let people know that I am there to listen to them. We all need to know that we are cared for. We need to feel like we can open up to others. When that doesn’t happen, community and friendship don’t flourish. Instead, it diminishes, and weakens.

When we’re in community, people want to help us if we’re having difficulty with something. We are meant to be there for people. We’re not meant to endure struggles by ourselves. Only when we tell people what’s going on in our lives, is when they can give their support. Community is family.

Leave a Reply

