Where Am I Going?

tumblr_o17ibdKa351r3pmtuo1_540

Taking a look around me, I can see all my friends accomplishing wonderful things. Some are in school, others are getting that job they applied for. I feel like everyone’s passing me in some race that I can’t keep up with; with each person that passes me, I keep falling behind in life. No job application is good enough for any place I’ve gone to, and I’m not currently in school. So what Β do I have to offer the world, while everyone around me seems to have so much more to offer? How in the world am I supposed to find purpose when everyone always seems to be one-upping me?

Lately, I’ve been exploring my passions. I’m a creative person, so I’ve tried creating multiple projects. Between August 6th and January 18th, I have completed two journals that are chock-full with ideas, poems, and stories. I’m working on a musical project. I’ve considered taking up painting. I’m currently into photography, and saving up for a camera so I can capture the beauty of creation. I have grown with my worship team, exploring new goals, and growing closer together. I have grown tighter with the girls I mentor.

I’ve realized that I’ve been tackling the matter all Β wrong.

Instead of asking, “What do I have to offer the world“, I should instead be asking the question, “What do I have to offer God“.

Why? Because the world is never going to be satisfied with what I have to offer; the world will always be asking, “What else do you have, Robin? You can do better than that.” But God is pleased with a humble offering, and He doesn’t mind that I’m going at a slower pace in life. I can worship God with the creativity I’ve been given.

Even though everyone around me is doing well in life, doesn’t mean that I’m not, just because I don’t have a job, or I’m not in school. I can find purpose in what I love to do, and use it to make God happy too! I’ll be brave enough one day, but for now, I’m allowed to go against the flow, and do what makes me joyful.

2 thoughts on “Where Am I Going?

  1. Good thoughts, Robin πŸ˜€

    Most of all, keep looking at who God is and find your purpose and satisfaction in Him! I realized we hadn’t been sending letters to each other for a while now. I’d love to hear what He is teaching you or even questions you have while reading His Word, walking with Him and growing in your relationship with Him.

    Keep it up, girl πŸ™‚ You are loved and precious.
    Marianne (from camp)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

